rapid return to winter overnight

welcome to the random rants and raves of a slightly disturbed city boi stuck in the middle of nowhere

"...life isn't a fucking romance novel... life is fucking Jerry Springer..."

Current Entry
Older Entries
Profile
Homepage
Sign my guest book!

Don't Tickle Tigger - 2003-09-10 - 04:52

The Essence of a Marching Band - 2003-04-15 - 04:19

In Beer, We Trust - 2003-03-25 - 03:19

Jealousy and Hookers - 2003-03-07 - 05:53

A Bang, A Scrape and a Raging Ouch - 2003-02-28 - 07:09

My Diary Rings

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2003-02-24 - 21:46

Snot Funny


So... I�m sick.

*cough cough*

See?!

Ok... now I�ll be the first to admit that I become a big baby when I�m sick... I sleep a lot, I become totally useless in the real world... and I whine.

*cough cough*

And sometimes, I guess I�m a little... well... dramatic.

Yes, I know it�s hard to believe.

Sometimes when I get sick, however, I am very strong willed and completely pig headed.

Like... yesterday, I was determined to go to work. I�ve only called in three times in the past three and a half years... once for second degree sunburn all over my body for falling asleep on Daytona Beach for four hours... once because the day before, my manager had sent me home with a temperature of 103... and once because I freaked out with a bit of a mental breakdown.

So... of course, I decided that the best thing to do was to get up and be to work from just before 8am and do six thirty-minute character sets, plus the Studios Parade.

Because, naturally, the best thing to do with a nasty head cold from Hell is to go and put on thirty-five pounds of fur and run around in eighty degree weather.

Ugh.

So... after I finished my first set, the other characters in my group thought I was about to die. When the greeter unzipped my costume, a large plume of heat and damp air burst out. As he then unsnapped the buttons on my body pad, more humid air escaped and my body was absolutely drenched in sweat.

Eeeew.

Fortunately, the greeter has a lot of experience in the department, and since he didn�t smell any alcohol coming out of my pores, he knew I was actually ill. He asked if I wanted to go home. I refused. I then passed out on the couch for twenty minutes before having to go back on set.

This icky cycled continued for most of the day... but can I just stop for a minute to tell you how much I love some of our character breakrooms...?

So... some break rooms are very very sucky, i.e. shade control at the Magic Kingdom. Shade Control is a giant covered tent behind Main Street. The tent is about ten feet wide and a good forty feet long. There is one solid wall with three flaps that can be zipped down. The floor is concrete and the benches are hard, uncomfortable wood. Shade control is one of the suckiest places to break. Ever.

The best break room of all spaces we have taken over as characters has to be the GMR/Hat Breakroom at the Studios. It is the Club Med of all breakrooms. This place used to be the location of the Duty and Manager offices, inside of the Great Movie Ride. Now, however, it has been gutted out and many large, cushy couches and things have been added. We have two daybeds and two giant cushy chairs, along with a nice cozy bench along the entire length of the room, which happens to be the size of a typical two-bedroom apartment. In order to store our costumes, there is a totally separate room with racks for character heads and costumes... as well as a nice cushy couch... which is where I took most of my naps, yesterday.

Ah... what a fabulous couch.

But... I digress.

So... I guess that I have to share the most disgusting part of my day with y�all...

Now, by the time I had done five character sets and a parade, I was done. My body was about to give out, as shown by the sweat dripping off my body because of the walk from the parade base out to the hat, and the dipping of my nose from my decongestant giving out.

So... on my final set of the day, I was the last character to make it out on set. As I meandered by big ass out to my little location, I began to sniffle more. As usual, guests were grabbing me from all angles... and I just continued walking, letting the greeters yell to tell them I had to go to my little spot. Sweat was already forming on my brow, a result of my fever continuing to break.

I finally get to my location and a small girl comes running up to me. I look down and begin to bend. And then... the ickiness begins. I can feel myself lose control of my snot.

Eeeew.

As I continue to squat and stand for the next thirty minutes, the snot kept pouring out of my nose... and since I couldn�t take my arm out of my sleeve to wipe it, I kept running... out of my nose... and into my mouth.

Eeeew.

I felt like a second grader in a snowsuit in the middle of winter. With arms in the Michelin Man suits, unable to move, unable to wipe the snot trail from the nose to the mouth.

Well, except for the fact that it was eighty degrees and I was wearing a giant gray fur suit with a giant, heavy head, making it impossible to do anything but swallow the snot.

Eeeew.

So... my friend, Miss Kim, had come to watch me in parade and came to watch my last set of the day. So... when my greeter told me it was time to go, I took her by the hand and brought her backstage with me. Her purpose... to get me paper towels so that I could wipe the line of snot off of my face.

Eeeew.

So... since I got home from work, yesterday, I�ve slept for approximately 20 hours... consumed about 6 cans/jars of soup... eaten � of a box of saltines... drank about 5 liters of water... and sucked down one orange flavored Popsicle.

And I did literally suck it down.

*sigh*

Anywho, I�m sick.

And I�m cranky.

So... if anyone�s in Orlando and wants to come bring me things... just let me know... ;).

*sniff sniff*

*cough cough*

later, kids...

~robert

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact me:
E-mail - [email protected]
IM - Dameon8888