rapid return to winter overnight

welcome to the random rants and raves of a slightly disturbed city boi stuck in the middle of nowhere

"...life isn't a fucking romance novel... life is fucking Jerry Springer..."

Current Entry
Older Entries
Profile
Homepage
Sign my guest book!

Don't Tickle Tigger - 2003-09-10 - 04:52

The Essence of a Marching Band - 2003-04-15 - 04:19

In Beer, We Trust - 2003-03-25 - 03:19

Jealousy and Hookers - 2003-03-07 - 05:53

A Bang, A Scrape and a Raging Ouch - 2003-02-28 - 07:09

My Diary Rings

join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com

2002-04-24 - 16:57

Mr. Crankypants


So... let�s just summarize my weekend in Florida by saying... it was awesome.

I had a really really great time.

And... while the weekend was anything but relaxing, between work and auditioning and trying to spend as much time with as many people as I could... I gained a newer sense of clarity and hope for the future.

I came to a lot of different realizations about myself and my life and the people with whom I share it... what I need and what I want verses what I have and how it�s been affecting me.

But... overall... I would say that I lost a lot of sleep.

Like... we�re talking massive amounts, kids...

I don�t think I really slept anymore that 6 hours any night... with the average running around 4.

On Sunday night, just before my return, I went to bed at 2:30am.

Not bad...

Until you consider the fact that I woke up at 3:30am to get ready and get to the airport with enough time for my 6am flight.

Ouch.

But... I managed to get a little bit of sleep on my first flight...

And then after eating quite possibly the *worst* Eggs Benedict *ever*, I passed out for a bit at the gate before my return to Ithaca.

Right... so... let�s just say that getting off the plane and getting home to change in time to make it to work for Satan�s Kitchen was an interesting feat.

Basically... by the time it was 6:15pm and we had our first table... I was ready to drop.

By 7:30... I was ready to cry.

By 9pm... I was so punchy... I just didn�t care, anymore.

So... I got home around 11pm.

And I crashed.

Well... almost.

You see... my roommates have taken it upon themselves to start a little band.

When I got home from Satan�s Kitchen... Zach was in the living room with a guitar... and some other non-roomie had an electric guitar with a very large amplifier.

And with only one hour of sleep and an 8-hour shift in Satan�s Kitchen... it didn�t go over so well.

I didn�t even have to say a word.

I just stood there... with one of those... "turn that shit off... right now... because if I have to open my mouth... it�s not going to be pretty" smiles...

And... I went to bed... at 11:30pm...

Now... I knew I was going to miss at least my 8:40 class...

Little did I know... I was going to sleep through *all* of my classes.

Yes, kids...

All of them.

Which is especially pathetic... considering I missed a class that begins at 2:55pm.

I finally woke up shortly after 3:30pm.

Yes.

I slept for a long long time.

Two of those hours were spent sleeping through my alarm.

Eeep.

But... it could�ve been worse.

I could still be sleeping on a chair in the Pittsburgh International Airport.


So... I�m sitting in class, today... and it�s 2:20pm.

Fuck.

Twenty minutes to go...

Just as I am contemplating opening up a window and jumping out... I hear a noise...

For a minute, I had to check to see if my cell phone was on vibrate and just making a louder than usual noise...

Nope.

I finally came to the conclusion that the sound was coming from out in the hallway...

That�s right...

It was the fire alarm!

Elated, I gathered all of my belongings and high tailed it out of the room...

I think the professor was yelling something about next class or whatever...

But... I didn�t care... I was already down the hall at the stairwell when she was yelling.

Down the stairs I bounced... elated to get out of that building...

And very excited at the fact that the building in which all of my classes are held, could quite possibly become a pile of smoldering ashes.

So... everyone in the stairwell was getting exiting the building in the back, on the first floor.

I continued down the stairs to the basement.

Why? You ask?

Well... in the Hotel School, we have these little mail folders... and... as I was late getting to class, I hadn�t had time to check mine... so... I decided that I needed to check it...

Not to mention the fact that I had absolutely no intention of returning to the classroom after the fire department gave the all clear sign... and... being the lazy bitch that I am, I didn�t want to have to walk all the way around the building in order to walk home...

So... out of the front doors I sauntered... after checking my mail folder, of course... and I crossed the street... only to find Rachel, totally ecstatic, shouting... "Finally... my dreams are coming true! Statler Hall is burning to the ground!"

We crossed the street and I snapped a picture of the mass of people milling about...

And... just as we decided it was time to go... our dreams were crushed.

The fire alarm went off... and people started filing in.

So... on the downside, the building will still be there tomorrow... and I�ll be forced to attend class...

But... at least I got out of twenty minutes of a totally useless class...

Not to mention the fact I got out of having to jump out of the third story window...

later, kids...

~robert

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Contact me:
E-mail - [email protected]
IM - Dameon8888